Stars and Oceans

Miles lay between

Our fingertips

Stars that form foreign constellations

On your cheeks

Two oceans of shallow water

Down the islands

There I am

Sailing stubbornly, I break the bow and rip the sails

The wind fighting against my final destination

I drown in the water that has come aboard

And I wonder where you are

There I am

Staring at you like a masterpiece

Squinting my eyes, examining every stroke

The lumps of paint the artist didn’t smooth out

But still astonishing and stunning because it is

Still the most beautiful thing I’ve ever lost myself in

 

I could

drown here forever, dreaming of oceans

stars, paintings and miles

I could

waste away my seconds by

giving them all to you

I could.

Leave a Reply

