This is Ducking Crazy

So the internet has completely blown up and shit itself because of Phil Robertson. In a GQ magazine, he said some anti-gay comments and A&E suspended him. Here’s the interview. Read it before you say anything.

First of all I completely believe in freedom of speech. Everyone has the right to say whatever they please. I think we are forgetting that just because we can say anything doesn’t mean we are free from consequences. If you work for a big company, you are held to a certain standard. You are the representation of that company. For example, if I walked around in my sorority letters and started running around yelling something like “I LOVE HITLER. I LOVE CHILD RAPISTS AND MASS MURDERERS.” I will most likely get kicked out of my sorority. Also FYI, I do not love any of those people. Just thought I’d clarify because people are known to take little bits of a whole text and twist it to their own liking. OOOOO, did I just hit a nerve? Oh well, freedom of speech and all that. Remember?

Anyways, a celebrity is held to a different standard than ordinary people. They are watched at all times. Phil Robertson should’ve known that. I don’t care if you’re 67 or 23, once you have your own show on TV, you are immediately held to a different standard. I know that’s not fair to them but that’s just reality and we all have to accept it. You cannot be a celebrity and throw your beliefs around willy nilly because they are up there representing companies and sponsors. Also let’s say a murderer was talking about how his belief was to kill all the people he killed, would you really stand by him and support him in his freedom of speech?

Don’t get me wrong, I am a Christian but I am not ignorant and stuck in the past. As humans we are progressive not regressive. Our times are different from biblical times. I don’t believe that women should get stoned for having premarital sex. I don’t believe that getting a tattoo is sin. Even if the Bible is the words that Christian follow, I also think that the Bible should be looked as a history book. It shows us the life that they led in their time. We look at history and see slavery and arranged marriages and we are disgusted by them, well that was their time and we are in our time. Phil Robertson is stuck in the past and he is just using the Bible to justify that. I am a huge supporter of the LGBQT community. I believe in human rights and that being gay isn’t a sin. If being gay was a sin, why did God make so many of them? Does he like condemning people to hell? I don’t think so. In light of that, I’m not saying any of this from a Christian point of view or as supporter of the LGBQT community. I’m saying this from a professional point of view. I’m sorry but his comment afterwards is a load of bull. Here’s what he said,

“I myself am a product of the ’60s; I centered my life around sex, drugs and rock and roll until I hit rock bottom and accepted Jesus as my Savior. My mission today is to go forth and tell people about why I follow Christ and also what the Bible teaches, and part of that teaching is that women and men are meant to be together. However, I would never treat anyone with disrespect just because they are different from me. We are all created by the Almighty and like Him, I love all of humanity. We would all be better off if we loved God and loved each other.”

How are you going to say that you love all of humanity when you condemned gay people to hell and said their life was wrong? I think that’s just trying to save your ass. Also why did he even bring up homosexuality anyway? He didn’t have to but he brought it on himself to make those comments IN AN INTERVIEW FOR A MAGAZINE THAT HE KNEW WAS GOING OUT TO THE PUBLIC. He knew exactly what he was doing and he should’ve known the consequences for it. He didn’t have to say any of those things. He could’ve just said that he didn’t support gay marriage and homosexuality and been done with it. He didn’t have to ramble on about anuses, vaginas and bestiality. He really didn’t need to go into the gruesome detail. Like seriously dude, gross.

Like I said, I support freedom of speech and I believe that everyone has a right to their opinion but the moment you say your opinion, the other person is free to respond as they please because it is their freedom of speech. A&E had more than freedom of speech. A&E was Phil Robertson’s boss. They took actions that any boss who is thinking about their company would. Saying those things about gays wasn’t right of Robertson as a representative of A&E. Did I make that clear yet? PHIL ROBERTSON WAS A REPRESENTATIVE OF A&E.

I JUST WANTED TO MAKE THAT CLEAR. FREEDOM OF SPEECH DOES NOT MEAN FREEDOM FROM CONSEQUENCES. THANK YOU AND GOODNIGHT. Or good morning. Whatever.

Also I feel like we have more important issues in this country to talk about rather than a 67 year old saying some ignorant things. Right? or is that just me again?

tumblr_muimvktgup1ract8ho1_500

 

-Jonny

Leave a Reply

