Beyonce Sexy Time

I guess this is my “sort of feminist/I worship Beyonce” blog post.

I respect Beyonce not just because she’s a flawless woman but she is a phenomenal artist with a message. I know that her new album is overly sexual and I will never understand why that’s a bad thing. People are commenting on the fact that she is too sexual and I wonder why people are criticizing her while there are plenty of other artists much worse than her. Also if you listen to her songs, it’s about empowering herself and she just comes to admit that she likes sex but of course if a woman says she likes sex, she immediately is labeled as a whore. At the end of the song, Partition, which is one of the most sexual, a nice French lady comes out and says some interesting things in french but of course, no one really looks it up and only hears the word “sex” being said in a french accent. The lyrics are this:

“Est-ce que tu aimes le sexe? Le sexe. Je veux dire, l’activité physique. Le coït. Tu aimes ça? Tu ne t’interesses pas au sexe? Les hommes pensent que les féministes détestent le sexe, mais c’est une activité très stimulante et naturelle que les femmes adorent.”

It translates to this:

“Do you like sex? Sex. I mean, the physical activity. Coitus. Do you like it? You’re not interested in sex? Men think that feminists hate sex, but it’s a very stimulating and natural activity that women love.”

Well there ya go. I think Beyonce is just saying that it’s okay to have sex and to enjoy sex as women but it should be the one you love because everyone listening to this album is aware of the fact that she is married to Jay-Z and all of her sexual references is directed towards him. Maybe she was really horny when she wrote this album. Maybe it had something to do with her miscarriage and her learning to love her body again afterwards. Maybe she wants to tell the world that she loves sex and she is proud of it. Maybe Jay-Z is amazing in bed. I don’t know. 

Another one of her songs addresses this by putting in a quote from Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, a Nigerian writer:

“We teach girls to shrink themselves, to make themselves smaller. We say to girls, ‘You can have ambition, but not too much. You should aim to be successful but not too successful. Otherwise you will threaten the man.’ Because I am female, I am expected to aspire to marriage. I am expected to make my life choices always keeping in mind that marriage is the most important. Now marriage can be a source of joy and love and mutual support. But why do we teach girls to aspire to marriage and we don’t teach boys the same? We raise girls to see each other as competitors – not for jobs or for accomplishments, which I think can be a good thing, but for the attention of men. We teach girls that they cannot be sexual beings in the way that boys are. Feminist: the person who believes in the social, political and economic equality of the sexes.”

There. 

Why is it that if a woman has a whole lot of sex, she is called a whore, tramp, slut but when a man has a whole lot of sex, he is praised? 

I am a strong believer in human rights. I want to human equality and I want everyone to be seen on an equal level. I want to live in a world where there is no discrimination. I don’t want anyone to think they are better than another person. So yes, I want women to be respected and held to the same standards as men. If a woman can work equally to a man, then she deserves the same pay. Not because she is a woman but because she is an equal. I want men to not be criticized for showing emotion. I want gays to be able to marry because if a gay couple loves another as much as a straight couple, don’t they deserve it? I believe that we are all created by God and we must never assume that we have the right to judge others based on gender, sexuality, race or anything that they cannot help. We do not have the right to do any of that. I will die for human rights. I will die for equality. I don’t think we look at the big picture enough. Why does it matter if you’re a woman or a man? If you are gay or straight? If you are black or white? Why does any of that matter? Seriously? The only reasons certain stereotypes are followed is because they are born to believe that that is what they are supposed to be. If we were born into a world being told that we could be whatever we wanted to be without our physical or sexual traits getting in the way, I think the world would be a better place. Think of all the things we are limiting people to be because we “believe” that that is the social norm. Why is everyone so obsessed with being normal? Why are we all obsessed with blending in and not being heard? We all want to change the world one way or another. But tell me who in history has ever changed the world but staying quiet and doing what they were told? I love Beyonce because while she is sexual in her songs, she inputs important messages within them kind of like subliminal messaging. I think her album is all about loving who you are and if you like sex, go ahead like sex, why should anyone criticize you for that? But she isn’t talking about promiscuity, she is talking about sex with the one you truly love. She is talking about her husband, not a boyfriend, not a fling, not a crowd full of horny men, but her husband to whom she given her vows and has mutually agreed to spend her life with. Jay-Z loved it so he put a ring on it and Beyonce is so happy, she is singing about it. Maybe this album isn’t for young girls or maybe you should’ve taught your daughter that promiscuity is highly discouraged? My parents always gave me the freedom to make my own decisions and to make my own mistakes. They have taught me to distinguish right from wrong. Maybe that’s what parents need to do a little more. Instead of telling them not to do something, we should teach them to understand how to differentiate right from wrong. So there’s my little spiel.

Here’s a picture of Beyonce holding a monkey and a tiger. You’re welcome.

Image 

-Jonny

3 thoughts on “Beyonce Sexy Time

  1. So, I left a super awesome comment here moments ago, and my computer rejected it. So here we go again:

    I agree with almost everything you have said here. I think in many ways her album is very empowering to women; I don’t think it’s as successful as say, Lena Dunham’s portrayal of female nudity in as something more than sexual; however, I think it is successful in bringing forward the natural sexuality of women that has been stifled for centuries.

    That being said, I do, however, have a hard time reconciling this album and the whole “Queen Bey” thing with some of her public interactions with her husband. For example, the Grammys. While I know that every marriage is different and people are free to experience relationships as they see fit, her relationship, as depicted in the Grammys, is quite different than what her album says about her. In no way is it empowering to sing with your husband song lyrics that reference (and deem okay) scenes of domestic violence: “I’m Ike Turner, turn up/Baby know I don’t play/Now eat the cake, Anna Mae.” Here’s a good article on that: http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/ellie-slee/beyonce-feminist-drunk-in-love-lyrics_b_4676557.html

    So, I guess I support her album, but as of right now the jury is still out on what I think she is trying to do for females.

    Sorry this was long. My professor’s say I have a hard time being concise. ❤ you!

    1. Yeah! I agree with you on those things. I just don’t think we heard Beyonce’s side of things, which would be a really interesting thing to hear about. On the whole Anna Mae thing, I have no idea what was happening…if it is what it sounds like then that is really disrespectful. Overall thanks for sharing your opinion and reading my blog! You’re awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

