Law and Order: Human Rights Edition

One step forward and ten steps backwards. That is my life in a sentence. Eventually I’ll get to where I’m going but in the meanwhile, it’s a whole lot of that.

While I’ve been noticing this cycle in the my life, I’ve been obsessed with Law and Order: SVU. I’ve gotten to the point where I know what’s going to happen next just by the intro. It’s kind of bad but Olivia Benson is such a badass and Nick Amaro is so attractive. Don’t get me wrong, I love the old cast but I ain’t complaining about the new cast either. Image

Image

I mean you can’t replace Elliot but Nick is kind of a younger, more attractive version of him so it’s too bad. If they got rid of Fin, I would be really upset. I love that guy. I love Olivia but Fin is perfect, I am however glad he got rid of that rat tail thing he had going on for a while…

I also have a feeling that season 15 is going to Olivia’s last season and that breaks my heart. I’m pretty sure I’m ready to be a SVU detective now. Is that a real thing? I would totally move to New York to be one. I mean I understand that it’s probably a lot of deal with. Rape is no light subject. It’s one of my biggest fears. I’d rather get murdered than raped. I just have such a desire to help people in those situations.

With this, I’ll segway into my panic attacks about my future. I have no idea what I want to do with my life. I’ve been doing that whole “What does God want me to do?” thing but it’s getting me absolutely nowhere. Sometimes he chooses to stay silent and it’s a bit frustrating but I guess I have to keep trusting his overall grand scheme of things. It’s just annoying sometimes. I’ve been thinking a lot about my future though and I should know by now that I shouldn’t do that because now I want to do something completely different from what I’ve wanted to do.

I’ve been so passionate about human rights and fighting for human equality. I believe that everyone is created equally. We are all equal, no one is better than another. Oppressing someone because of who they are is despicable especially if it’s something they can’t help. I will do anything and everything to protect and fight for those people without rights. Women should be equal to men. Gays should be equal to straights. Blacks should be equal to whites. We are all human, aren’t we? If a woman can do the same thing as a man, why should be she treated any less? If a man loves another man as much as a man loves a woman, why shouldn’t they be allowed to marry? It’s annoying when people are just so small minded that they think they are better than someone else. You are not better than me and I am not better than you. I view us as equals and we deserve equal rights. God didn’t create us based on hierarchy. God didn’t create hierarchy at all, humans did. God loves everyone equally and unconditionally, that means he loves us whether we are women, men, black, white, asian, gay, straight, transexual, short, tall, blonde or brunette. I will fight for what God loves until the day I die. I wasn’t taught that one race is better than another or that one sexuality is right and one isn’t. I was taught that God created everyone and loves everyone dearly so if that’s the case then that’s what I’ll believe and follow. God created everyone for a reason and who am I to get in the way of that?

I don’t care if you believe in God or not. I do and because of that I believe in human rights. That’s why I will fight for the oppressed. Martin Luther King, Jr. said that an unjust law is when a power majority makes the minority to follow but doesn’t follow it themselves. With that, he also said that it is completely okay to break an unjust law. It is the only time it is okay to break the law. I fully believe that.

I’m not a feminist or gay rights activist, I’m just a firm believer in human rights and it just so happens that these specific groups’ rights are being oppressed. I mean if men were getting oppressed then I would fight for their rights.

Now that I said my piece, I just need to figure out how to incorporate this into my future. This should be interesting but in the meantime, I’ll just sit here at Starbucks, reading literature, trying to not have a mental breakdown.

-Jonny

Leave a Reply

