Common Sense: It’s a thing

Last night someone asked me what feminists wanted.

I was a little confused about this question. I thought it was kind of obvious. Equal rights between humans despite gender. Right? I mean I dunno maybe other feminists want different things. People are different. I also read articles and watched videos on sexual assault and how it’s a bad thing. Well, that’s an obvious one too.

I don’t really know if I am a feminist or anything. I just fully believe in the idea that every single person in this world should be treated equally and should never be treated poorly because of their gender, race or sexual orientation. Common sense. A person should be able to pursue whatever dream they have as long as they are qualified and a qualification shouldn’t be “You have to be man” or “you have to be a woman.” If a woman can do a job as well as a man, then by golly gee wilikers, she should be treated as an equal to the man and be given equal pay. Is that a really hard concept for people?

Common sense, people. It’s like the common sense of NOT raping people. Don’t rape people. Like Jesus Christ, if they say no then it’s a no and move the hell on. No means no. No does not mean yes because it means no. Did you fail 1st grade? The fact that such things as rape culture even exists makes me question everything. Excuse me what? Victim blaming? “What was she wearing?” “He was asking for it.” Um…what? No no no no no no no. What is wrong with people? JUST DON’T RAPE PEOPLE. DO NOT SEXUAL ASSAULT PEOPLE. IT’S COMMON SENSE. IT’S CALLED BEING A DECENT HUMAN BEING. Why is this even a topic of discussion? Why is society so messed up that the freaking president of the United States of America had to make a video about NOT SEXUALLY ASSAULTING people? Why are there campaigns and organizations for awareness and to stop sexual assault? SEXUAL ASSAULT JUST SHOULDN’T HAPPEN. Teach your children to be a decent human being and it’ll be fine. Also sexual assault isn’t directed just towards women. Like I said, YOU JUST SHOULDN’T RAPE PEOPLE. Men, women, children, animals. JUST DON’T DO IT. OH MY FREAKING GOODNESS. If you need reminders that these men and women could be your daughters, sons, brothers, sisters, wives, husbands, boyfriends or girlfriends, I have to ask why because it doesn’t matter if they are related to you or not, IT JUST SHOULD NOT HAPPEN. I mean for sure, I wouldn’t want my daughter, son, brother, sister, wife, husband, boyfriend or girlfriend to be sexually assaulted and discriminated against BECAUSE IT IS COMMON SENSE. OMG. Do people really have to spell in out for you? I mean we will spell it out for you. We will make you emotionally connect with this if need be but you shouldn’t have to. Just treat people like people and we’ll be fine.

Be a decent human being. You don’t need a reason or examples on why you should stop sexual assault. You shouldn’t need to be lectured and taught. It’s called not being a moron. I am a strong believer in equal rights for everyone because it’s common sense. I was raised to view every single human being as human beings. I was taught that it was wrong to view people as objects or treat people less than me because of how they look or where they are from. I was taught that race, gender and sexual orientation should never define a person’s character.

I shouldn’t have to go out and worry about whether I’ll be able to buy a decent house because of my race or gender or sexual orientation. Redlining, it’s a thing. Why? I don’t know. I shouldn’t have to worry about my children getting picked on because of the way they look. I shouldn’t have to worry about my children getting picked on at all because bullying is terrible and should not be allowed. That’s a different post but seriously. I shouldn’t have to give up my right to marry someone just because it’s not a man. Marriage isn’t about gender, it’s about love. LOVE. If I am madly in love with someone whether is it a male or female, I should be able to marry them. My love should not be called an abomination or disgusting. Love in general should not be called any bad names because love is a wonderful thing. Do not take away my right to call someone my wife or husband because of a verse in a book written thousands and thousands of years ago. Also read the whole book. Plot twist, the Bible isn’t just a damn verse but an entire book. I’m getting religious here which is something that I shouldn’t be doing because our government has that one thing called separation of church and state so your religious argument is invalid in lawmaking. JUST SAYING. Did you pay attention in American Government class? BECAUSE YA SHOULD’VE.

To summarize, BE A DECENT HUMAN BEING. Like damn. It really isn’t that hard of a concept. Don’t rape people. Treat people like people. Don’t be assholes. Also do not ever EVER try to justify rape. That is disgusting. COMMON SENSE PEOPLE. COMMON SENSE. Ugh. Over it.

Image

Image

But all of this is my opinion, of course. Believe whatever the hell you want to believe. JUST DON’T RAPE PEOPLE OR HURT PEOPLE. Damn.

-Jonny

Leave a Reply

