I Want Moher Of Ireland (Puns For Days)

Hello my people,

It’s been a few days since I’ve last posted and it is solely because I was in Ireland and I did not take my laptop with me.

Now Ireland was a spontaneous trip that I will never regret. It is absolutely wonderful there. I went with a couple of my friends and it was quite a trip. The trip to Ireland was an adventure in itself. We got up at around 1:30 am and headed on to the bus stop at like 2 am. We took the night bus to our train station, however, on the way there, there were a few guys that looked exactly like the pirates that took over the ship in the movie Captain Phillips on the bus.

Here’s a picture for reference.

df-09062_r_wide-1caeaec5b9096457d28f34c7dd618c69664b72aa-s6-c30

It was all fine until they started yelling and insulting the driver. They said some harsh things. It scared the crap out of everyone, I mean it was like 2 in the morning. The driver pulled over and sounded the alarm and eventually the ruffians got off except for the fact that our stop was right after they were told to leave. Of course, the guys started running after the bus, jumping on it and yelling. I don’t think I’ve ever been more scared in my life and I’ve done some scary things like take the SATs or attend a Jonas Brothers concert. Talk about terrifying.

We walked as fast as we could without making it look like we were running away because that’s not smart. We got to the train station just in time to catch our train to the airport and then it was all smooth sailings from there.

We got to Ireland at around 8 in the morning. I don’t think I’ve ever been so tired and excited in my life. We weren’t going to stop though, we went to our hostel, took care of everything we needed to take care of and headed out into the city of Dublin until we could check in. Dublin was amazing. If I had to describe it, it would be a very touristy college city. Majority of the shops were either a vintage clothing store or a bookstore. If they weren’t any of those, it was a barbershop or food. So basically just a city full of vintage clothes, books, haircuts and food. A city of dreams.

We decided to not tire ourselves out too much because we were going to the Cliffs of Moher the next day. Let me tell you something about the Cliffs of Moher. It is the single most beautiful place in the world. If you ever get a chance to go, take it immediately. Don’t second guess yourself. Just do it because oh my god. I have never been so in love with a place until I went to the Cliffs of Moher. It might’ve meant more to me for different reasons but I was taken. Here’s a picture, it does not do the place justice but it’s just a taste.

photo (8)

Here’s me summoning the Kraken.

10302031_10154407434900300_8080031783446170235_n

I think what really took me aback was that this was a place where some people have gone to commit suicide. It never crossed my mind until someone mentioned it. At the cliffs, there were signs for people to be careful and signs that had numbers to call if you were feeling suicidal. There was a small memorial that was dedicated to the people who lost their lives on the cliffs. It was heart breaking. I know this is taking a very dark turn but I kind of want to talk about it, if you don’t want to read it then that’s fine, you can skip to the bottom or just leave this page, I will completely understand.

Earlier in the post, I talked about the guys on the bus saying rude things, one of them was telling the bus driver to kill himself. Suicide is never a funny topic. I lost a friend to suicide and I will never get over it. Not only that, I know what it like to hate yourself so much to reach that point. It’s a very dark place and it’s not a topic to be taken lightly.

Also I just want people to know that it’s not a hopeless journey. Your life means more than you can ever understand. Sometimes it will be the hardest thing to believe but you just have to. Don’t ever give up. Please. If you are in a bad place, understand that it’s not shameful or wrong to seek help. Don’t fight this fight by yourself. You don’t have to. There is help out there. You are not a burden. You are never a burden. We all have shit we go through, it’s life so we just gotta stick together, ya know? I just need you to know that whatever you are going through now, it will get better and you are not alone. I know the whole “it will get better” saying gets old and redundant but it really is true. I promise you, it will. You gotta trust me on this one. If you believe any of the things I have said, believe in this: it will get better.

Anyways, in an attempt to leave this depressing topic behind, I want to finish talking about Ireland. I loved Ireland. I love Ireland. Ireland is an amazing place. The countryside is breathtaking, the weather was absolutely beautiful which is apparently rare and the night life is crazy in Dublin. I personally didn’t participate but we did walk through it at night. We stayed at Temple Bar, which gets crazy at night. There are street performers, crazy drunk college kids, crazy drunk adults, crazy drunk old people, crazy drunks and a lot of noise. When we woke up at 5 in the morning to go catch our bus to the cliffs, we encountered a man with a bloody nose and a shirt covered in blood. He got really close to one of my friends and just kind of pointed his phone at her. It was 5 in the morning. It was not okay. There streets are lined with broken alcohol bottles, a lot of trash and random items just thrown about. We saw one platform heels just sitting on top of a mail box. I’m sorry but how to do you just forget one of your platform heels? I just imagine this girl just limping around with one shoe, all confused about her shoe. Did you not notice the moment you started walking away that you were kind of limping? I mean the heels were quite tall from what I can remember. It must’ve made a difference if you had one on and one not on. I’m just confused as to what was going through that girl’s head. Crazy ass people.

Ireland was a success. It was amazing that nothing went wrong. Everything went so smoothly. The transportations besides the crazy lunatics on the bus were a breeze. The flight wasn’t bad. The hostel was pretty decent. It was my first hostel experience and it was much better than I thought. We ran into some people we knew on the streets of Dublin and they were telling us about how one of the guys that was saying in the room with them brought back a girl and proceeded to have sex with her with everyone else there. There were 11 other people there. Okay, I’m sorry but no. First of all, really? You thought it was a good idea to bring back a random girl to a hostel room with 11 other people. What did you think they were going to do? Cheer you on? Throw you a damn parade? Gross, please don’t. Also to the girl, when you entered the room with 11 other people, did you really think that was okay? Were you like “oh yeah, this is perfectly normal, I’m going to have sex in a room with 11 strangers. I’m the smartest human being”? Did it not make you uncomfortable? I’m just saying. These are questions I will never get an answer to and I think I’m actually okay with that. I’m just glad that my hostel experience wasn’t that bad. I mean there was a guy that I did not like but I didn’t have to deal with him much. Overall I slept well, I saw some of the most amazing things I have ever seen and I found myself a little more. It was quite the success.

So yeah, Ireland was better than I imagined. I am definitely going to have to go back. It’s just one of those places you have to go multiple times.

I’m sorry about the depressing part in the middle. It was just something that had been weighing heavy on my heart and I needed to get it out. I promise my other posts won’t be as heavy. Thanks for reading anyways. You guys are great.

-Jonny

Leave a Reply

