How My Sorority Made Me A Better Person

My freshman year of college I decided to go through sorority recruitment. It has changed my life in so many ways.

I think it’s important to remember that life isn’t perfect. Life wasn’t meant to be perfect. Everything is flawed. We have to learn to be okay with this fact. Greek life isn’t perfect. There are some hardcore things that are wrong with it but isn’t that the same with a lot of different things in life? I dunno, stuff like our government or our society?

I love my sorority. I love Greek life. This does in no way mean that I love all sororities and all Greek life. There are some where I’m just like “oh no, please get your lives together, this is important, children.”

tumblr_mr6s41sG2P1qdp7h2o1_400

tumblr_mwtco7Tntn1qde4uko1_500

In this post I am going to talk about why my sorority has made me a better person.

You don’t become a better person by everything working out and never making one mistake. You become a better person by choosing to be a better person despite the hardship you are going through.

My sorority has taught me some of the most valuable lessons this world has to offer. I have grown in so many ways ever since joining. I have become stronger and better. I learned what it means to be a good person and what it means to be a bad person. I learned that no matter where you are, there will be bad people but there will be a lot of good people.

tumblr_mzy44lBRpW1sluigio1_500

tumblr_lssbl0kw791r2v7yvo1_250

You do not and cannot like everyone in your sorority. That is impossible with any large group of people. There will be people you do not get along with. There will be people who do not understand the things you are going through. There will be people who judge you. There will be people who do not agree with you or your life choices. However, there will be people who make you feel like awesome. There will be people with whom you could spend forever with and never get bored. There will be people who understand, accept and love you. There will be people who will stand by your side until the end of the world.

giphy (2)

tumblr_mre0vd1Wgb1rmzrqmo1_500

I will admit that there are times when I question whether I made the right choice in joining a sorority. There are times when I feel like I do not belong at all. I however understand that that will happen wherever you are. You will question your choices. The only difference is that every time I am feeling low about being in a sorority, my sisters will remind me why I joined and why joining was the best decision I have ever made in my life. My sisters will never fail to make me feel confident in my choices, whether they know or not.

tumblr_makmytB33z1rqtm3g

I think a sorority wasn’t made for everyone to get along perfectly well forever. I think a sorority is to bring together women who share a common goal of becoming better people. Isn’t that what we look for in life, to be surrounded by people who share a similar goal? Aren’t we all wanting to be surrounded by people who want to be better people and want to better the world? Don’t we all want to surround ourselves with people who will better us as individuals? Well that’s what my sorority is to me. These women have taught me that being a better person is choosing loving everyone around you and even though there will be difficulties with everything that you face, you’re gonna be fine.

post-25179-you-can-do-it-gif-serious-Rob-rNbk

To be a better person, you have to learn to change your situation and seek the good rather than dwell in the bad. If you don’t get along with someone, find someone else that you get along with. If you are feeling down, find something that makes you awesome. My sorority has taught me to love the life I am living and to be able to be proactive in finding my own happiness.

tumblr_m9n9y7wFNO1qb9f3c

853552

My sisters mean everything to me. Each and every one of them have shown me what it is like to thrive in a world that is constantly trying to shut you down.

The world is like:

tumblr_mjenelmlwu1r5zq6ao4_400

tumblr_inline_n6gkhkIdZA1s3qfmf

tumblr_mr2zakHeHS1qzw89so1_500

And I’m like:

tumblr_inline_n8icvgAnyz1rb5pth tumblr_mvrn5t1Jak1rg2rmzo1_250

Every time I find myself falling into my own darkness, I find the strength to pull myself out because of the lessons I have learned from my sisters. So yes, things will never be perfect but I am growing to understand that perfect is impossible but happiness isn’t. I am making myself a better person and I owe it all to my sorority. I have a purpose in life and I have developed a love for the good and the bad. I have accepted the fact that there will be hard times but I have not given up on the good.

tumblr_mebwwzWnE51qlxyddo1_400

So thank you, sisters. Thank you for allowing me to grow and prosper with you all. Thank you letting me see the world from a brighter and better perspective. Thank you for saving my life.

Modern-Family-Phil-I-love-you-guys-so-much

-Jonny

Leave a Reply

