Rant: Domestic And Dead

So recently I have been thinking a lot about what it means to live a full life and somehow I always find a way to tie these thoughts to feminism. With the whole “meninist” thing going on in the world, making me hate everyone, I thought I would give my two cents about feminism or just a general thought on society’s ratchet influence on people.

First of all, I want to address the term “domestic.” Nothing makes me angrier than when girls cook and they take a picture of it with the caption “domestic” or “domestic goddess” or “look how domestic I am, marry me now boys.” It really grinds my gears. I will never be “domestic” because I am not an animal for someone to tame.

Bitch+please+i+m+flawless+_f0b8c227748468bb0fcc2ac7d45c4094

I need women to stop hashtagging “domestic” whenever they cook or clean or do anything that a normal human should do on a regular basis in order to live. My whole purpose in life is not to be someone’s wife. My purpose in life is to do good and live a good life. I do not care if you want to be domestic. If your desire in life is to be someone’s wife then you do you. I am not about to argue one’s lifestyle. YOU GO BE DOMESTIC. YOU BE THE BEST VERSION OF DOMESTIC YOU CAN BE as long as that’s what YOU want to be.

5633a35b1954c86ee70302af04906812d377a1e77e1f3042536f018f0ea2bb62

I’m just saying that I don’t like it but you do you. Women, you don’t have to know how to cook or clean but I hope you do since you know food and tidiness is kind of important. You don’t have to be defined by the idea of a “good wife”. You can be whatever you want to be. Your purpose in life is not to find a good man, settle down, have kids and a picket fence. You are so much more than that. You are more than these stereotypical ideas of happiness. No one should influence you in your life decisions. You want to do it then do it. You want go into space, you go into space. You want to meet Meryl Streep, you meet Meryl Streep. (Hey, if Meryl Streep is reading this or if someone that knows her on a personal level is reading this, I want to meet you. Kthanks. This whole blog is dedicated to me meeting Meryl Streep, wait what?)

tumblr_inline_mjx0akAysY1qz4rgp

Don’t let society crush what you want to be. The “norm” does not exist but we are trying so hard to make it exist. There isn’t a normal. Don’t feel pressured to be a certain way because that’s just sad. If you have built your life depending on what society has placed as normal, I’m really sorry. Breaking news: there isn’t a normal. It’s all a lie. Be weird. Be crazy. Be Yonce. Stop living your life thinking that you have to fill a certain space in society. You aren’t meant to mold into a particular shape. You are meant to be whatever you want to be because life really is short.

We all have to face our own mortality sooner or later. It’s a very rough and bleak thought but it’s true. You are going to die. There is a short story by Leo Tolstoy called “How Much Land Does A Man Need?” If you haven’t read it, it’s about a guy who wants a bunch of land and it’s never enough. I’m gonna spoil it for you because it’s important for the point I’m going to make. So he is given the chance to obtain this huge amount of land. The owners say that he can keep the land that he is able to walk around from like sunset to sunrise but he has to return to the starting point in order to get it. Well, he walks around. It’s a huge amount of land. The sun begins to rise and he runs to the starting point but right before he reaches it, he dies of exhaustion (It must’ve been one large amount of land). The end says that all the land he needed was six feet of land, from his head to his toe, his grave. Isn’t that a dark ending? But that’s what I mean. He kept wanting more and more. He kept thinking that what he had wasn’t enough and in the end none of it mattered. It didn’t matter how much land he had. Life shouldn’t be about wanting more but I think it’s about doing good and becoming a better version of yourself. I think it’s about being comfortable with who you are instead of trying to be what others want you to be. I think it’s surrounding yourself around people who are comfortable with themselves and with you being yourself. It’s all about enjoying each others company and helping each other. It’s not about wanting more or satisfying someone else’s needs. It’s about finding yourself and being comfortable with that as you lay in your six feet of land. I hope that when you do finally rest, you realize that you have achieved so much by helping, loving, caring and accepting rather than fighting, gaining, taking, or winning (This is getting dark, sorry). Just be yourself and find your own version of happiness.

funny-gifs-dancing-alone1

old-people-dancing-o

Z2sB3b7

Do good things and do it with love.

-Jonny

Leave a Reply

