Fifty Shades of Uh Okay: A Movie Review

Recently I went and saw the notorious movie, “Fifty Shades of Grey.” Yup, this is going to be weird.

enhanced-9973-1422996527-24

So I haven’t read the book, though I did try once and failed so I went into this movie blind, expecting to leave traumatized and angry. I have heard such noise from the internet about how the whole story is about Christian Grey abusing Ana and how it’s promoting domestic/sexual abuse. Here’s my take on this subject, I refused to have a solid opinion before I watched/read the movie/book. People take things out of context all the time. What about what happened beforehand and what happened after? From what I learned from society is that people love to take excerpts of books and twist it to benefit them. Looking at you, Westboro Baptist, LOOKING AT YOU.

So I decided to see for myself. Now after watching the movie, my thoughts are uh okay then…

The sex scenes weren’t as terrible as I imagined it being, still awkward and uncomfortable. The BDSM thing was there and did its thing. The story line sucked more than anything. The movie was quite laughable. Maybe because of how much it reminded me of Twilight. It was basically Twilight without the mythical creatures and with whips and chains. The acting was meh. There wasn’t much chemistry so it wasn’t believable. Christian Grey was like “I can’t stay away from you” but he looked so dead inside and I was like “Um…you sure, boo?” Anastasia was all “I’m awkward, look at me be awkward. I’m in love with a guy I just met and he’s kind of terrifyingly weird but he bought me a car and took me on a helicopter ride so we chill.”

I think people have taken this whole story way out of context. The story isn’t about Christian abusing Ana and romanticizing it. The story is about someone who is stuck in a circle of abuse and how that affects their lives. In all of the BDSM scenes, Christian made sure that Ana was okay with and wouldn’t proceed until he got a firm verbal yes. He even made Ana sign a contract to make sure that she was completely okay and that she knew exactly what was going to go down. That sounds like consent to me or did I get that all wrong?

People are taking this book and turning into a monster rather than using it for something productive. This book could do so much with bringing awareness to child abuse, sexual abuse, and the world of BDSM. I don’t want to ruin it for you guys because I know you all are dying to see it. It’s just that this movie can go in a direction where it calls out just the sole act of abuse. This phenomenon can take the route of bringing light to the abuse of boy/men and how that can create the circle of abuse. The abused can become the abuser, whether male or female. Not only can this series spotlight the movement of stopping abuse but it can also help people understand BDSM more. Christian Grey’s idea of BDSM is taken from a bad place. People think that those who practice BDSM are abusers but that’s not true. Abusers don’t ask for permission. Those who practice proper BDSM are all about consent.

I’m just saying that this entire series can do so much for society and direct the spotlight it’s getting to issues that really matter like abuse.

I guess I do believe that Fifty Shades is about abuse but I think it’s more about the result of abuse rather than encouraging abuse. This whole “I’m going to take certain quotes completely out of context so it can fit my agenda” thing is getting really annoying. Read the whole thing. Understand the situation then make up your mind. You can’t solely choose to see what you want to see. That’s not how this world works. While I do not like Fifty Shades, I don’t like it for different reasons rather than the idea that it promotes abuse. I have watched the movie and gave my opinion after understanding it a little more.

People need to stop blaming this movie for those who take this story out of context and do stupid things. It has nothing to do with the movie, it has something to do with them being total dumbasses. Use the “We were just recreating a scene from the movie” excuse all you want, that’s not going to change the fact that you are a dumbass and should probably be shunned from society. If someone says no, whether you were recreating a scene from whatever or not, you stop because that’s common sense. Don’t be like “Well Christian Grey never stopped,” because you are blaming a fictional character for your incompetence. Christian Grey isn’t real so don’t make him real. Don’t blame a movie for your stupidity.

Anyways just for clarifications, this isn’t a review of the book because I didn’t read it. It’s just what I got out of the movie and if the book is anything like the movie (which is always a debatable topic), then I believe that my opinion will stand. I am a very firm believer in getting the whole story so I don’t have the whole story on the book but I do on the movie so this is a review of the MOVIE not the BOOK. Kay?

So the conclusion:

I didn’t really like the movie. Acting was awkward, sex scenes were awkward (for obvious reasons), story line was ridiculous, but the actor that plays Christian Grey is the only part of this whole thing that really matters.

tumblr_mvy3olIXIj1sqzas0o1_500

Um yes…I’ll have seven, please.

So go see the movie or don’t. I won’t know so it’s really whatever.

-Jonny

5 thoughts on “Fifty Shades of Uh Okay: A Movie Review

  1. This is the best thing I have read yet on this series. I have had *sighs* yes, several, long conversations with people regarding the books and the movie. I have not read the books other than excerpts (due to the horrid writing, I don’t think I could)…and have not seen the movie.
    However, because of exactly what you pointed out…. I have now read excerpts, reviews of all the books, and the movie. I was interested in why no one was pointing to the sexual abuse of Christian Grey? To me, that was a huge issue here. i also agree that the BDSM is only a part of the story of the complexity of the characters, yes characters, and their relationship.
    This is so very good. Not just funny, but insightful and everything I wanted to point out.
    Loved it!

  2. Reblogged this on Refractory Ramblings From The Darkside and commented:
    This…..

    “People are taking this book and turning into a monster rather than using it for something productive. This book could do so much with bringing awareness to child abuse, sexual abuse, and the world of BDSM. I don’t want to ruin it for you guys because I know you all are dying to see it. It’s just that this movie can go in a direction where it calls out just the sole act of abuse. This phenomenon can take the route of bringing light to the abuse of boy/men and how that can create the circle of abuse. The abused can become the abuser, whether male or female. Not only can this series spotlight the movement of stopping abuse but it can also help people understand BDSM more. Christian Grey’s idea of BDSM is taken from a bad place. People think that those who practice BDSM are abusers but that’s not true. Abusers don’t ask for permission. Those who practice proper BDSM are all about consent.

    I’m just saying that this entire series can do so much for society and direct the spotlight it’s getting to issues that really matter like abuse.” -taken from post…

    I got nothin’ better… best I have read! -CC

  3. I did read the books and thank for this post. Finally someone figured it out. I agree with you. I was confused and slightly uncomfortable, actually, with all the hype because I thought the message from the author was definitely going to be overlooked. Then I thought maybe the author wasn’t trying to get that childhood abuse message out… I don’t know… anyway, liked your post a lot.

Leave a Reply

