Across the Sea and A Little North: Jonny Goes To Scotland

So a few months ago, I decided that I wanted to study abroad. After experiencing the beauty that was London, I just wanted to travel everywhere. On the first weekend there, we went and visited Scotland. I immediately fell in love. It was amazing. Ever since I came back from my summer study abroad trip, I have been very unsatisfied with staying put. Not to say that I don’t like America, I freaking love America. I just feel like I’m missing out on something and I just need to get out. Distance makes the heart grow fonder, right? So I decided that I will be studying abroad in Edinburgh for next semester.

braveheart_freedom

This semester has been especially hard for me for reasons that I don’t really feel like disclosing. I have not been able to shake off this uneasy feeling. Something has been weighing on my heart and I’m not Atlas, I ain’t got time for that. I don’t even lift.

Accurate depiction of me trying to lift:

tumblr_mf50fhGZEf1ro8qpo

Let’s just say that the only thing I can raise is the roof.

Michael-Scott-and-Dwight-Schrute-Raise-the-Roof

Well, I think leaving would do me some good. I am extremely nervous about leaving. I have no idea what to do and I feel panic attacks coming on when I think about it. However, I am so excited. Of course, I’m scared. What if I don’t make any friends? What if I hate it? What if I love it so much I don’t want to come back? What if it’s not what I want it to be? Something I realized about these questions is that it’s pointless to ask them. So basically, who cares? I’m just gonna go in with an open mind and just dive head first into it because why not? Life is way too short to be worrying. Just go do, ya know?

I’m just so tired of feeling trapped. I just want to get out and explore. I just want to see the world. I want a change of scenery. I want to meet attractive boys in kilts or highland cows. I want to eat haggis and probably spit it out because gross. I want to do Scottish things and what not. I don’t know. I just need change.

spare-change

Not that kind of change. Don’t be a smart ass. (I’m talking to myself at this point. I’m crazy.)

However, I think Lion King said it best with this:

Screen Shot 2015-04-20 at 2.44.54 PM

I will miss my family and friends dearly. I will miss the comfort of my home. I don’t know what’s in store for me but I’m doing it. It’s gonna be crazy. So yeah, next semester, I will be calling Scotland my home. Wish me luck. At least it has some good reviews.

“[Edinburgh] is a city of shifting light, of changing skies, of sudden vistas. A city so beautiful it breaks the heart again and again.” – Alexander McCall Smith

“It is one of the most hauntingly beautiful places in the world, the history is fascinating, the men are handsome and the whisky is delicious. But don’t eat the macaroni pies.” – J.K. Rowling

I will try and update my blog while I’m there as much as I can. I know, you thought you got rid of me BUT YOU DIDN’T. HA. You’re stuck with me. DEAL WITH IT.

Thanks for sticking with me, guys. I appreciate it. Love you all.

And I’ll see you soon, Edinburgh.

10525995_10154386836830300_4952574239272165055_n

-J

Leave a Reply

